Public Boards can be viewed by every user in KanBo as well as added to his Personal KanBo Home. View access doesn't depend on having any permission to the Board. In the Public Boards, users can join a Board by their own decision and action (if the Joining Mode is enabled).
This Board’s Documents are accessible to everyone (also not only to its members) as well as it is possible to add a Card from there to MyBoard. The document from a public board will be widely seen in the Search section. All users can observe this kind of Board along with its Cards and can search through them.
Boards are created as private by default. You as the Board owner can change their visibility to Public later.
Adding users to the Board as Owners, Members, and Visitors.
A Public Board will be visible to you even if you are not added to it as Owner, Member or Visitor. You will also be able to view all Users, Activities in Board activity stream and Documents added to this Board.
Enabling the Joining mode or disabling it
As a Board owner, you can enable or disable the Joining mode. Once you enable it, all users will be able to Join a Board as a new member by clicking on the Join button.
Go to Board and select Settings -> General. Select Open for everyone if you would like to enable Joining mode.
The Join mode
If Board Owner has chosen Join Mode to be enabled, you can use the Join button. Click it and you will be added to Board as a new member.
If there is no Join button, you need to contact a Board owner so he can add you to it.
Adding by Board owner
You can be added by the Public Board owner to the Board to gain more permissions as a member or visitor.
Changing a Public board to become a private board
If you wish to change a public board to become a private board, you can enter Board Settings -> General and change that simply in the Visibility section.